Microsoft Online Sign-in Client…Application Dashboard…Error…Oops

Are you new to Microsoft Online Services?  If you or your employees are experiencing an error when logging into the Microsoft Online Sign-in tool for the first time that looks like this…

“There was an error while preparing your application dashboard.  Please try again later”

So far we have seen this error occur on Windows XP machines that install their SP3 and .NET updates before installing the sign in tool 😦  Have you seen it with a different configuration? Please leave a comment!

See our “workaround” for addressing this “challenge” below…

Workaround:

  1. Close the Microsoft Online Service Client.
  2. Click Start, click Run, type gpedit.msc, and then click OK. 
  3.  Under Computer Configuration, expand Windows Settings, expand Security Settings, expand Local Policies, and then expand Security Options. 
  4. In the Policy pane, right-click Network access: Do not allow storage of credentials or .NET Passports for network authentication, click Properties, click Disabled, and then click OK.
  5. Re-launch the Service Client and sign in.

– Vorsite Microsoft Online Services Team, http://www.vorsite.com

7 Responses to Microsoft Online Sign-in Client…Application Dashboard…Error…Oops

  1. Brian says:

    Diane, Unfortunately I am running XP SP2 and still encounter the problem. I followed your steps to find that the setting was already set to ‘Disabled’ Any other thoughts?
    Brian

  2. Steve Craig says:

    I am having the same problem. XP, SP2, I can get to MS Online and log in to OWA, but I cannot get the signin tool to run.

    I downloaded the MOSAL tool, and I’m running it, but I’m not sure why. I doubt I will understand the dumps.

    • Steve,
      Apologies for the late reply, I was waiting to here back from our tech on the customer resolution. Turns out the customer was using Windows Media Ed. which is not supported.

      Regarding the logs, make sure to open an issue (if you haven’t already) with MS directly and they should be able to help you sort through the logs. Please post your resolution if you have one.

      thx!

      • Chris says:

        Hello, I am trying to setup BPOS for my family business. I am getting the “There was an error while preparing your application dashboard. Please try again later.” error. Reading a post above I find out that it is not supported on Win XP Media edition. Is this so, and if so is there a work around or something? I want to install Exchange online across this comp and 5 laptops, but this comp will be a sort of hub for dispatching via exchange calendars. Can I make this work? Would upgrading to Vista or 7 help?

  3. OwenOS says:

    Same problem here – on an XP SP2 build – I simply logged the user off – logged back on as an admin – connected to the ‘sign in’ with the users credentials – fired up the IM also – no issues. Logged back out and back in as the user again and dashbord error did not re-occur.

    MOSDAL is primarily intended for the BPOS guys – not very useful for ‘in house’ troubleshooting 😦

  4. Carmel says:

    Hello, I have a similar but different problem…
    I’m running a Terminal Server with 40 Clients.
    Every user conected with BPOS.
    35 of them is working fine.
    5 of them are getting this message:

    “There was an error while preparing your application dashboard. Please try again later”

    What can I do?
    Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

